First few days in London!

Ok, so I know many of you have been wondering if I made it to London at all or died since I am a photographer and have yet to post any photos/videos buuuuuuuut the jetlag definitely got the best of the first two days or so. Ill mainly be posting pictures, videos, and tidbits of our experiences and adventures on here (and a little fashion). So far, im in love with this city– except the weather right now, but I know it will get better. Ill keep my first day of work thoughts short and sweet:

I am interning at a very prestigious agency that represents the top photographers, stylists, and hair/makeup artists called D+V Management. Luckily, I found it easily the first day on the tube and made it there early and had time to relax at Starbucks on the corner before I went in. The office itself is very cool, all white inside– very chic. The people are all very nice, Caitlin, a past intern showed me the ropes of things. I got to do some blogging, archive magazines (they get every. single. fashion. magazine.) and other website jobs on the computer. As the day went on, I began to feel like a literal real life version of the movie, “The Devil Wears Prada”, to a certain extent. I had to add descriptions of all the pictures on their website from each photographers portfolio. I did fine with the advertising section, just had to name the brand or publication in the pictures (even though some I still dont know if I am pronouncing right), but when I got to the portraits section, I hardly knew any of the people in them– I knew the big models and big celebrities and a couple others but other British people in the photos I had no idea who they were and I felt so bad having to keep asking. And when I was blogging I had to write about Numero, which is a magazine I hadnt heard of, so I need to brush up on some things. The phones rang constantly and the conversations would be like “Sophie, so-and-so from Vogue is on the phone for you” “James, so-and-so from Elle UK on the phone for you” “So-and-so just got done with a shoot with Victoria Beckham” (and I wont say what they said about her)… but it was really cool getting to hear it all. The one thing I am so nervous about is starting to make tea for everyone starting tomorrow (especially the 3 boss ladies who run the place) because I have never made tea and they all take it differently, some North Yorkshire, some Ginger, some with milk, some with not. But hopefully I can just write it all down and after I get the hang of it I wont be so nervous…I know it sounds like a silly thing to be nervous about but its a slightly intimidating atmosphere in the fashion world and I dont want to screw up. Im so excited for next week when I will begin going on fashion shoots with some of the biggest photographers (still will just be making tea for everyone on set, but I would do anything to be on those shoots) and am so thankful for this incredible opportunity to see all the behind the scenes work of what pulls together a huge successful fashion shoot and am then going to experience shoots first hand. Ok, so this wasnt very short and sweet, sorry. 

Also, getting a whole pizza, creme brûlée, and a glass of wine for FREE was a very nice first dinner in London…maybe Ill start appreciating my southern charm/kindness a little more??

Even though my camera is going to be extremely heavy to carry around I promise to start taking pictures this weekend and will have pictures and a video up at the end of the week.

Check out my iphone shots on facebook and instagram: kickkk_ash

Wish me luck on making good tea tomorrow…ahhhh!

 

XO

Ashley

Leave a Reply

